Continuing the Challenge

img_1784

I’ve been thinking about it.

I’ve hinted at it.

But it’s time to make it official.

I’m going to continue not buying *new* clothes.

How long?

I don’t want to put a time limit on it.

I don’t want this lifestyle to end.

At the very least, this will force me to exhaust all options before buying something new.

I’m excited about rising to the challenge. I have so much and there’s so much waste. (To the tune of 10.5 million tons of clothing a year ending up in landfills.)

This is no longer a ban, but a lifestyle I want to continue. I’ve switched my brain out of “shopping ban mode” and entered “delay and question everything lifestyle.”

There is no shopping for fun.

There are no impulse buys.

Maybe this is simply me maturing into a no-nonsense grown woman who is done messing around with fashion. If so, I’m not the first and I’m definitely not the last to make this transition.

In fact, I think the no-nonsense look is actually quite distinguished!

Maybe I just like challenging myself to live on less and less. It’s thrilling to realize all the layers of comfort and habit one can strip away without missing them.

My swaps have provided me with some great pieces – an awesome swimsuit, a robe, so many shirts, and a great sweater. My closet is stuffed with friends’ cast-offs. It connects me to them, and them to me if they’re wearing things I didn’t want.

Can we always do this? Can we just meet each other’s needs rather than go to stores?

I realize shoes, socks, and undergarments don’t transfer from person to person particularly well, so while they were included in my initial shopping ban, I’m leaving them out of this one.

With the exception of shoes and underwear, my goal is to not buy new clothing.

My goal is to still be mindful about these decisions and research and delay purchases as long as possible.

My goal is not to shop for my identity, but to fill actual holes in my wardrobe when one of these things wears out.

My goal is to inspire others to join me along the way.

If you’re reading this and feeling the least bit inspired, I invite you to join the challenge.

This one isn’t a monthly challenge.

It isn’t a yearly challenge.

It’s a journey.

Maybe you don’t enjoy shopping for clothes like I did. Great, you’ve got a head start! All the more reason to make it official.

Now you know.

Please let me know if you’re in too!

Stay tuned because next week I’ll share some tips for shopping your own closet.

Leave a Reply

