No Alcohol October

Happy October 1st! It’s been a little while, but it’s time for a new monthly challenge!

If you know me well enough, you know that I like good beer. (But I’ll even settle for halfway decent beer on occasion.) As a frugal person with larger goals, I sometimes wrestle with the cost. Alcohol is definitely a luxury not a necessity. I already buy my drinks at the grocery store rather than bars and restaurants to save money. However, this hobby still ends up being about $20 a month that I can’t justify…other than the fact that I like it. It pays to be disciplined. At the end of the month I’ll donate the money I’ve saved to a charity.

Is it okay to do things because I like them? Of course! But I find that giving up something I like for a short amount of time makes me more thankful and appreciative when I introduce the thing back into my life. I‘ll be honest and admit that I really, really didn’t want to do this challenge…which is a good sign that it was time to do it! Just because I can justify my beer hobby doesn’t mean I always should.

It’s also healthier to drink in moderation. While I love a good craft beer after something challenging like a long run or bike ride, it’s good to take a break when it becomes a nightly ritual. This article about how alcohol affects women’s health was a nice reminder of that.

So my challenge to myself, and anyone else who wants to join, is to not drink alcohol this October. And lest those of you who don’t like alcohol think you’re off the hook, this includes soda if you’re a soda drinker. I find that many people are in love with the buzz of sugar even more than alcohol. It may be culturally acceptable, but addiction to sugar is very real and very prevalent in the US.

As always, let me know if you’d like to join the challenge so we can support one another. Cheers to 31 days of savings and health!

img_8630_2

Leave a Reply

