No Dryer Challenge Update


Well the No Dryer Monthly Challenge of May was kind of a bummer because it rained and stormed so much this month! I also decided that Shiloh’s diapers don’t do too well drying outside and just need the extra fluff that the dryer provides.

That said, we did save on electricity this month! Our bill was a mere $22, which is the lowest we’ve ever seen. (It’s usually $25-$30 with no AC.) So our efforts didn’t go completely unnoticed!

Still, I’m not satisfied at how many times I begrudgingly had to throw soggy clothes in the dryer, so I’m extending this challenge out for the rest of the summer. Like all of our challenges, this isn’t about perfection, it’s about changing our habits. I really want to get in the habit of drying my clothes outside when it’s warm and sunny. If I can do that, I’m not going to beat myself up about the times I can’t due to weather or crunchy diapers. The goal is to change my habits, and a summer of mostly drying clothes outside should do just that!

How did you guys do this month? Was your May soggy or sunny or both?

Leave a Reply

