My Favorite Healthy Desserts 

Josh and I successfully cut back on sugar at home three years ago. A big part of our transition was substituting sugary desserts with less-sweet, naturally-sweetened alternatives. These are the recipes I keep coming back to again and again when I need a sweet-ish treat. I love these recipes because while healthy, they don’t require a lot of unusual ingredients. I get my white whole wheat flour and coconut sugar at Trader Joe’s. Costco has the best prices on coconut oil and maple syrup and oats…you just have to commit to a large container or split it with someone. I hope you enjoy them as much as our family does, whatever your whole food goals!

Black Bean Brownies

I made it my mission to find the best healthy brownie recipe out there and after trying a bunch, I think this is it! Gooey, chocolatey, smooth, chewy, with a nice crunch from the chocolate chips. I don’t miss the packaged mix brownies at all. 

1 can rinsed black beans, or 2 cups if you make your own

3 eggs

1/3 C olive oil or melted butter

1/4 C unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 C coconut sugar

1/8 C dark chocolate chips or shredded unsweetened coconut

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine all ingredients except chocolate chips in food processor and blend until smooth.
  3. Pour into buttered 8×8 pan and sprinkle with chocolate chips or coconut.
  4. Bake 28-30 minutes until just barely set. Makes 9 large brownies.

Healthier Chocolate Chip Cookies

Inspired by mywholefoodlife

1 1/4 C flour

1 C rolled oats

2 eggs

1/3 C melted coconut oil

1/2 C maple syrup or honey

1 tsp salt

1 Tbsp vanilla extract

1 tsp baking powder

1/3 C dark chocolate chips

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Combine all ingredients in a bowl, combining thoroughly before adding chocolate chips
  3. Form dough into small balls on cookie sheet. Bake 10 minutes until edges are golden. Makes 12-15 cookies.

Baked Chocolate Chip Oats

IMG_8953.jpg

I make these often because I pretty much always have these ingredients in the house! They really opened up the door for me that healthy desserts could be accessible and not cost a fortune. 

2 C oats

1/3 C peanut butter

2 smashed bananas

3 Tbsp maple syrup

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 Tbsp milk or milk alternative

1/4 C dark chocolate chips

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Blend ingredients with a spoon in a large bowl.
  3. Spoon into greased muffin tin and bake 15 minutes. Makes 12-24 oatmeal cakes depending on how full you fill the tins.

Healthier No-Bake Cookies

IMG_5644.jpg

We’ve all had these growing up. I just removed the white sugar and margarine to make it a healthy snack. Malachi loves these!

1 stick butter or 1/2 C melted coconut oil

1/4 C natural peanut butter

1/4 C unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 C milk or milk alternative

1/2 C honey or coconut sugar

3 C oats

  1. In a large saucepan melt butter or oil and stir in peanut butter.
  2. Once mixture is smooth and creamy, add cocoa, milk, honey or coconut sugar. Keep stirring until smooth.
  3. Remove from heat and stir in 3 cups oats. Add a pinch of salt if desired.
  4. Roll warm mixture into balls and place on cookie sheet. Refrigerate until firm. Makes about 24 small cookies.

Banana Custard – Wholefoodsimply

IMG_9507.jpg

I don’t think I eat enough eggs, so this is the most delicious way to eat them!

Pumpkin Spiced Donuts – Mywholefoodlife

The only difference is I use white whole wheat flour instead of spelt. And I use a muffin tin, so I guess they’re not really donuts.

 What are your favorite healthy versions of snacks?  

Leave a Reply

