Happy

I’ve been thinking a lot about how happiness is a choice.
Contrary to popular belief, happy people aren’t stupid.
They aren’t necessarily oblivious to the world.
In fact, happy people are often more engaged than others.
They take the time to notice the small things, like a child who stops to watch the smoke rising from a chimney, or stops to wave at the passing train.
(Doesn’t Jesus point out that we’re to be more like small children?)

The book “The Power of Positive Thinking” is better than I thought it would be. While a little old-fashioned, it’s a great reminder of how to “make it a habit to be happy.”
This is accomplished through constant prayer, being aware of your inner dialogue, and tapping into God’s strength.

Happy people don’t all have easier lives. In fact, some of the happiest people I know live in very, very hard circumstances.
Happiness and energy can be achieved regardless of income, social rank, job title, marital status, etc.

Do I think all people everywhere are called to be happy?
No, I think we are to rejoice with those who rejoice and mourn with those who mourn.
Jesus was a man if sorrows – not inside-outside-upside-downside-happy-all-the-time.
However, I believe Christians are called to be the light in the world, and not let small everyday things bog us down. People should be able to tell that something’s different about us and look to God to find it. (Matt. 5:16)

Lately I’ve found myself getting stressed over the smallest everyday chores such as getting dinner ready and doing dishes.
It was bad enough…then our dishwasher broke!
Rather than let a broken dishwasher get me down, I’ve realized that dishwashers are a huge luxury item and it’s actually not that bad to just wash dishes by hand.
God certainly speaks through the small things…

I often hear the phrase: “You’re having too much fun to be at work.”
To which I reply, “No such thing!”
Whether I’m at work, in traffic, or spending time with my family, I want to chose to walk in happiness.
The truth is, I benefit from it.
The truth is, it’s contagious.
The truth is, the world is a messed up place but my hope isn’t in this world.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Great post. Happiness not only helps you, but it helps others around you. Happiness is certainly contagious, even if it takes some people a long time to catch it. 😀

  2. this is so good. it was a temptation for me to believe that God wanted me to just suffer through my sufferings, and if he wanted them to go away he would just make me happy. It isnt “new age” to practice positive thinking.. its called renewing your mind with his word and reminding myself of who I am in him.
    Such a good post!!

Leave a Reply

