Remembering the Revolution

April 14, 2009.
97 years after the Titanic sank.
I know this is a holiday few people probably observe.
But for me it is a reminder.
Of the frailness of life.
Of the confidence of man in himself.
Of the impact industrial / technologial revolutions have on society.
Of how humans claim they know everything, yet when it comes to death, we’re all equally afraid… (even Jesus feared his own death when he was in the garden.)
I look at stories like Titanic and I see the overwhelming presence of God.
I am reminded of the devestating qualities of pride.
“Pride comes before destruction and a haughty spirit before a fall.” What greater reason for me to rid myself of the pride that is seeded in my heart?
I’m not saying that all technologial advances are bad, however we shouldn’t let ourselves get so caught up in speeding ahead, ignoring the ice warnings around us. Instead we should focus on using technology to glorify our Creator, not ourselves.
“For all men are like grass,
And their glory is like the flowers of the fields.
The grass whithers and the flowers fall
But the word of the Lord stands forever.”
1 peter 1:24

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. This weekend I’d been listening to “Handlebars” by Flobots and thinking about pride and power and its path to self-destruction… fits in rather well with this.

    I wonder if Jesus feared death itself so much as the pain of the dying part. Either way, he won.

  2. Yes, I agree Jesus died so that we wouldn’t have to live in fear of Death. So no Christian should be afraid of Death; it’s the dying that scares us.

Leave a Reply

