Jeremiah 17

“Cursed is the one who trusts in man,
Who depends on flesh for his strength.

“But blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord,
Whose confidence is in him.
He will be like a tree planted by the water
That sends out roots by the stream.
It does not fear when heat comes;
Its leaves are always green.
It has no worries in a year of drought
And never fails to bear fruit.

“You are my refuge in the day of disaster.”

Today wasn’t a good day.
But God is good, and he is the reason I am anything.
Without him I am nothing.
I am selfish.
I am inadequate.
I am incapable.
Realizing this isn’t easy, but it’s what I needed.
Father, forgive me for putting so much faith in myself.
Tomorrow we’ll start again.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hey that verse sounds a lot like Psalm 1… I admire you for remembering your foundation in the “day of disaster” instead of letting it keep you down 🙂

    …and you’ve almost convinced me to figure out how to port over some of my old stuff to WordPress and give yet another whack at the blog thing.. I’ve been reading Job since Sunday and having thoughts that I want to take some time to sort out and share…

  2. Thanks, Josh!
    Yeah, that would be awesome. I’d love to read your thoughts on it.
    Thanks for helping today be so much better than yesterday!!

  3. sweet Em, Jr., “tomorrow we’ll start again” is a recurring theme in my life, as well. and i’m pretty sure in most people’s lives who really want to contribute and create to something bigger than themselves. you’re a good friend.

Leave a Reply

